You are here

Holiday

Hi, I am fairly new to CML only diagnosed in September, I am now taking Imatinib and all seems to be going well. At my hospital appointment today I told my Dr I had a holiday to Egypt booked for January ( booked before diagnosis)  he intimated I should cancel the holiday but as of yet I haven't taken out holiday insurance! (big mistake) I really want to go and would like advice please, thanks.

Hi Sue,

I know it's tough - but you should listen to your doctor on this one. Being a pretty regular visitor to Egypt over the years, it's not somewhere that you want to really be if you run into complications. However, it's not like you are due to travel next week.

I went through a similar thing to you when I was diagnosed. I was diagnosed in November, and had a trip to Hong Kong in March. My doctor wasn't too keen on me going but we agreed that if my blood counts were of an acceptable level then I would be able to go. My blood was checked a few days before planned departure, and they were just about OK so it was agreed I could go ... but to take it easy! 

Since you don't have travel insurance, you don't seem to have much to lose going with this approach. Wait until nearer the time - there's quite a bit of time between now and January - and hopefully your blood work would be good enough to go when the time comes.

But again, Egypt is not Hong Kong and with low neutrophils (for example) it's a place you could pick up really nasty food poisoning, could be hospitalised and at your own expense - never mind other complications. And any travel insurance you bought now would not cover you. It could be very tricky.

David.

Thank you David for your response, your advice has been very helpful, I just want to feel "normal" again but realise I should take my condition seriously, as I said I am new CML and think I still haven't quite got my head round it all,

kind regards, Sue