You are here

BCR result

Categories:

Dear Forum, you possibly could help me in one question. I have been diagnosed cml 6 months ago. I am on Nilotinib 2 times 300. My PCR result is 0.18; Based on my understanding so far result is not bad after six months. But 3 months ago it was already 0.3. So in the last 3 months it went down by 0.12 percentage Points only. Maybe you can share your experience on this. Best wishes Wal

Hi Wal

I'm not an expert on this, but from what I can see it looks like you're in great shape.  From everything I've read, it seems as though drugs like nilotinib work very fast at the beginning and then slow down as time goes by.  This makes sense - there were many leukaemic blood cells to target when you first started treatment, and now there are very low levels of disease left in your blood, so the drug has a harder time eradicating the cancerous cells.

I will make a farming analogy to explain the point.  Let's say you're in a field of corn that is being attacked by hordes and hordes of locusts, and you have pesticide in your hand.  At the beginning, when every sheaf of corn is covered in locusts, it will be very easy to eradicate large groups of them at once, as you would just spray everywhere and be virtually assured of hitting a locust.  However, some of the locusts will survive this attack and, if you allow them to breed, they will return in full force.  This is why you would keep searching for them by entering the cornfield every day with your pesticide, spraying any locust you see.  This is much harder than before because there are so few of them left, and you might spend days without killing one.

I think it's the same with the nilotinib.  At the beginning of treatment, the leukaemia cells are everywhere, and the drug isn't short on targets.  However, when there are as few as 18 in a thousand left, it is very difficult to find and eradicate those "hidden" cells.